So much to tell

Posted: March 25, 2011 in film, horror, life, Stephen King, writing

I know it’s been awhile since my last post – two months and eight days, to be exact. Frankly, this blog got lost in the back of my mind as work has been very busy and I’ve been pushing myself into overdrive when it comes to this project I hope to get underway in the spring.

That project of course is my film adaptation of Stephen King’s short story, Mute. I’m pretty happy with how things are going right now and I’ve come to realize that I can shoot this sucker for much cheaper than I originally anticipated, which is the ultimate plus for any starting filmmakers. New information has come to light as far as technology goes, and the dollar figures behind it are much lower than I thought they would be. WINNING!

I could ramble on and on and make this post War and Peace-like in its length, so instead here are just the main bullet points when it comes to this film:

– I finished the script at 5:30 A.M. on Saturday, February 19. I sat down on Friday night knowing that I wanted to be completely done before I went to sleep, and I ended up putting my head on the pillow at the same time that some people wake up for the day. Thus is the life of a driven, stubborn and sometimes frustrated writer.
– The script came in at 26 pages, roughly eight pages less than the original story itself. But that’s adaptation for you. The general rule of thumb in screen-writing is that one page = one minute on the screen.
– A readthrough of the script with Kyle took a little over 30 minutes. This confirmed my suspicions when I sat down to write Mute in the first place that I would end up with a film over half an hour in length, especially when you include opening and closing credits.
– I still have yet to sit down and try to come up with an actual budget as

It will be mine. Oh yes, it will be mine.

far as equipment costs and expenses go, but I have found the camera I want to buy and use: a Canon VIXIA HF M400, a small but incredibly effective camcorder that’s getting rave reviews online. One of the features that sticks out to me about it is that it has no internal memory. Some may be irked about that, but that means no data or footage can become corrupt inside the camera and totally screw it up because you’re only using external memory cards. The worst that can happen is something on the card gets screwed up, but the camera will be fine. So you delete off the card and move on.
– I’ve started a Facebook page for Gang 04 Films, and I’m at the blockbusting number of 20, yes 20 whole fans! A small number for now, but I’m a shameless promoting son of a bitch so I hope that number grows ten times higher eventually.
– I’ve put out a casting call for anyone interested in reading the script, and also included my intentions with Mute and capitalized the part in which I tell people that this is a NON-PAYING film. Wannabe actors are doing it for the experience, a credit on their resume or they just didn’t have anything better to do!

So that’s pretty much where I’m at with Mute. Script is done, I know what camera I wanna use and I’m trying to get the word out to actors via Facebook. Actually, I’m sitting here looking at the screen and just got an idea that I’m slapping myself for not having before. I think I’m gonna type up a simple “Hey, are you an actor looking to be in a film?” notice and post it in local businesses in the area.

Why the Hell didn’t I think of that a month ago?

Anyway, I’m out. As far as this post goes.
D

Leave a Reply

